moodymama's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lazy way not always the best way.

Ing's entry about cookies made me think of these things that the girls and I baked over the weekend:

Yeah, I was taking the lazy way out because I didn't have ingredients for homemade choc chip cookies, didn't want the mess of it anyway, and I was craving sugar cookies too.

The package comes with two packages of frosting, one red and one green. Three year-olds are not fond of packages because they're hard to squeeze and decorate with. We'd used our own icing too that came in cans, but the taste was different from the packaged ones and meant more for cakes and not cookies.

They had more fun rolling out the leftover dough and using our own cookie cutters than they did decorating those pre-cut ones.

What's my verdict? Make your own, deal with the mess, and you'll have more fun and end up with better-tasting cookies.

3:55 p.m. - Thursday, Dec. 15, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cold rain go away.

It is pouring outside. I don't like to drive in funky weather, but I really didn't want to stay indoors today.

I'd sent my Christmas cards out in two batches. First batch contained family and long-time friends cards, second batch for online friends and acquaintances. Apparently, I forgot to put the crack pipe down while I was sending out that second batch because they're coming back without postage. Which makes no sense because I'd just bought two books of stamps the other day. Ugh.

Actually, I need to get out today, rain or not, and purchase puncture-proof gloves and a toboggan. When cold air blows in my ears, I feel like someone's poking needles in my head. Island folks don't handle freezing air blowing through body cavities very well, alright?

The gloves cost about twenty bucks at the law enforcement store. I hate to spend that much on gloves, but the latex ones that I use while frisking make my hands itch like crazy. And then I can only fit two pairs in my glove pouch, so halfway through the day I am shaking down lockers and frisk-searching bare-handed. Yesterday I was shaking down this guy's locker and cut my finger on shaving razors that he'd hidden behind his legal documents (a trap?).

I need to take my babies to school. I wish it would stop raining (my hair!).

7:33 a.m. - Thursday, Dec. 15, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ezi
jamsjunction
littlepoo
bluebonnet
ingridwrites
nmnohr
janie12975
starlight42
gofigure
simplify
anenigma
myexodus
passing-go
wifemotherme
trancejen
bebelua
discothekid
weetabix