moodymama's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My new family away from home.

I had a great day at work, mostly because I work with some of the funniest people I've ever met. Half of the time we want to beat the crap out of each other, but for the most part, we kind of function like a family. We all even have our individual roles within the family. I get to play multiple roles, depending upon who I'm dealing with. I am either a mother, a sister...a close family friend.

The warden threw a Christmas party for us too, much to our surprise. We had all of the traditional Thanksgiving-ish food and about ten kinds of dessert. She called us individually into her office just to chat with us, which was kind of cool. I've never really interacted one-on-one with her before, as I choose to ignore her most of the time. I'm still trying to figure out just what exactly she gets paid to do, but whatever. She gave me a free Christmas CD full of carols so I'm not complaining.

My Favorite Bandit got to eat at our Christmas party, and he spent the rest of the day just beaming from ear to ear. Never seen the man smile so much. He'd helped set up the tables and was entirely too excited when he was offered a plate of goodies and some soda. Said he hadn't had so much Pepsi in ten years. He was just tickled to death about that Pepsi. Said he'd never forget today and that it was better than Christmas. Wow, better than Christmas.

He's one of our "indigent" inmates, meaning that he does not have a canteen fund in which to buy his own items. So he never gets to go shopping like some of the more fortunate inmates whose families and pen pals send them money.

I'm off tomorrow and Friday, work on Saturday and Sunday, and then my Mommy will be here on Monday. YAY. I was supposed to work on Monday, but told My Lt. that if he didn't give me Monday off, I'd come to work and screw up every count possible. I think he was planning on giving me the day off anyway and just wanted to give me a hard time.

I'm mad craving some hot coffee to combat the chill in my bones and I am off to make some.

7:50 p.m. - Wednesday, Dec. 14, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

ezi
jamsjunction
littlepoo
bluebonnet
ingridwrites
nmnohr
janie12975
starlight42
gofigure
simplify
anenigma
myexodus
passing-go
wifemotherme
trancejen
bebelua
discothekid
weetabix